1. Home
  2. >

Press Release: 2020 Payable 2021 Real Estate Tax Bills Mailed

Posted by Breein Suver

County Treasurer, Kurt Albers, has announced that the 2020 payable in 2021 real estate tax statements have been mailed to the taxpayers of Iroquois County.  The due date for the first instalment will be July 7, 2021 and the due date for the second installment will be September 7, 2021. After the due dates a 1 ½ percent penalty must be added each month it remains unpaid, according to Illinois State Statutes.  Taxpayers must include their tax bill when paying or a $1.00 fee will be charged.

The Treasurer’s Office is open 8:30 to 4:30 Monday through Friday.  To avoid waiting in line, you may also pay by mail or at any bank in Iroquois County including Iroquois Federal, Commonwealth Credit Union and the First State Bank of Forrest in Onarga. Taxpayers paying in person at the Treasurer’s Office or at the local banks should bring the entire bill if they would like a receipt.  Upon payment, the appropriate stub of the bill will be removed and then the date will be stamped on the back of the remaining part of the tax bill.  If you mail your payment and wish to have a receipt, you must enclose the entire bill plus a self-addressed stamped envelope.

Credit/Debit Card payments and E-checks are also an option for paying Real Estate Taxes. To pay online please visit www.iroquoisil.devnetwedge.com. Fees for online payment will be applied at checkout.

Members of any United States Armed Forces Reserve Unit can defer their real estate tax payment until 180 days after they return from active duty.  This option is available if you are called to active duty for deployment outside the continental United States and if you are on active duty on the due date of any installment of taxes.

Remember that a drop box has been installed on the south side of the Administrative Center near the 911 Center so that taxpayers can drop off their payments during non-office hours.

If you have any questions about exemptions, assessed valuations, or address changes, please contact the Assessment Office at (815) 432-6978.

If you have any questions regarding the tax rates, please contact the County Clerk’s Office at (815) 432-6960.

If there are any questions about your tax statements, feel free to call the Treasurer’s Office at (815) 432-6985.